News & Events

Science Museum, 5 October 2011

Last night, the Science Museum was revisited by over 400 lawyers to celebrate the 2011 FT Innovative Lawyers awards. The FT report was published today and distributed to the FT readership in Europe. It is also available online in its own microsite on, in a fully searchable archive which covers the past six years of rankings. Hosting the evening were Lionel Barber, Editor of the FT and Reena SenGupta, CEO of RSG Consulting and the MC for the evening.

The FT Innovative Lawyers reports in the Europe and the US and the FT Innovative Lawyer Awards are produced in partnership Integreon, who are supporting the project for the next three years.

The overall winner of the Most Innovative European Law firm was Allen & Overy; the most innovative non-UK European law firm was Garrigues. Other winners included: Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer for innovation in finance, Simmons & Simmons for innovation in dispute resolution, Slaughter and May and Garrigues were joint winners in corporate.

The most innovative in-house legal team award went to Nokia. They were tremendously pleased with their recognition and in a show of the close ties that make them such an effective team all came to the stage to accept the award.

The Legal Innovator of the Year went to Richard Tett, a partner at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, who was chosen for his inventive restructuring solutions in various deals over the past three years and credited with transforming restructuring work across Europe.

The Special Achievement Award was presented to Peter Solmssen, General Counsel of Siemens AG for his work implementing a new compliance culture and for promoting corporate integrity and what have been described as ‘cartels of the good’ with other businesses. Mr Solmssen gave the key note address at the event.

Other award winners included:

Anti-Bribery and corruption: Simmons & Simmons and Berwin Leighton Paisner

Efficiency: CMS Cameron McKenna

Client Service: Cuatrecasas Goncalves Pereira

Corporate Strategy: Irwin Mitchell

Legal Industry Pioneers: The Co-operative Legal Services

International expansion: Norton Rose

Emerging Markets: Akin Gump

Lionel Barber Philip Wood Robert Gogel Most Innovative Firm 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Lionel Barber, Editor of the FT, Philip Wood, Allen & Overy and Robert Gogel, CEO of Integreon

Philip Wood Allen Overy 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Philip Wood, Allen & Overy, Accepting for Most Innovative Law Firm 2011

Richard Tett Freshfields Legal Innovator of the year 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Richard Tett, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, Legal Innovator of the Year

Lionel Barber Peter Solmssen Special Achievement Award 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Special Achievement Award winner Peter Solmssen, General Counsel, Siemens AG

Joe Simpson Irwin Mitchell Ree Corporate Strategy 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Joe Simpson, Irwin Mitchell, Innovation in Corporate Strategy

Norton Rose Laura Shumiloff Peter Martyr Ree International Expansion 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Norton Rose for innovation in International Expansion

Ignacio Corbera Garrigues Most Innovative Continental Firm 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Ignacio Corbera, Garrigues, accepting the award for Most Innovative Law Firm in Europe (Outside the UK)

Reena SenGupta Dan Walsh Akin Gump Emerging Markets 215x143 FT INNOVATIVE LAWYERS AWARDS

Reena SenGupta, RSG Consulting and Dan Walsh, Akin Gump, winner for Legal Innovation in Emerging Markets